reviews from Goodreads

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I have finally re-read Harry Potter for the first time since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows came out. When HP mania was at its height I sort of lost interest in these books. It just felt too crowded to enjoy. Now though it’s 20 years old and I am already a quarter century old. It is definitely a children’s book and it feels like that. Also, the perspective of the narrative is strictly in a young boy’s mind and I feel further removed from that because I am, of course a woman. I found myself applauding Hermione whenever she made sensible points about the actions Harry was about to take. Unusually for a series though, I have no burning desire to continue with the next one. I am only re-reading this series so I can take part in the discussions on Twitter as part of the new Pottermore book club.

View all my reviews

Standard

Leave a Reply

