reviews from Goodreads

Gone Girl

Gone GirlGone Girl by Gillian Flynn

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Gone Girl was a surprise. I don’t read thrillers. I make exceptions for crime and mystery stories. I avoid horror like the plague. However, this was the ‘it’ book a couple years ago and since it was handily there in the library, I borrowed it to read. I was pulled in. Both narrators were very unreliable in the beginning. However, I have to wonder if I was more disparaging of Nick than the wife because he was a man and I am a woman? The diary entries that Amy wrote were convincing to me until Nick revealed that it was all a plot. Now I was not seeing him as a murderer. The wife was gone and Nick may have been responsible but there was no evidence to prove it. Besides, who would think of a sociopath when there’s a case like this? You expect a crime of passion or a random event. The thing that bugs me though is, how did her parents not realise that their daughter is a sociopath? They have degrees in psychology.

View all my reviews

Standard

Leave a Reply

