reviews from Goodreads

Armageddon’s Children

Armageddon's Children (Genesis of Shannara, #1)Armageddon’s Children by Terry Brooks

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This is a review written for the entire trilogy and the duology afterwards. There are no spoilers just my opinions on all five books.

I was reading through the entire Shannara series in the order recommended for new readers. Usually I don’t like to read prequels after the main series but the author himself recommended it to avoid spoilers and after reading First King of Shannara after The Sword of Shannara trilogy, I understood what he meant. SO I stuck with the order. However, something is stating to bother me starting from this trilogy. I thought these books were written from the point of view of teenagers and young adults but it seems that is not the case. Every character except the ones that are obviously elderly keeps harping on how young and therefore worthless they are. It seems to be young in these books is to lack self-esteem. It’s rather depressing and it made me want to put down the books. However, I persevered. It seemed to be a affliction that only affected this trilogy and the duology afterwards, in my opinion. Back in the main story line, the protagonists seem to be older.

View all my reviews

Standard

Leave a Reply

